Services and Programming

A full continuum of special education and related services are available to all children who meet specific eligibility requirements.  Prairie Central #8 provides a variety of services to address the diverse needs of their student population.  All schools are committed to providing services in the least restrictive environment.  This commitment enables children to participate in and benefit from the general education curriculum as much as possible.

The goal of the special education and related services is to support each student and address the student’s individual needs.  An Individualized Education Program (IEP) is developed in collaboration with parents, general education teachers, and special education staff on a yearly basis.  The IEP, which includes goals and benchmarks, is evaluated every three years.

For more information about the district’s specialized programs contact the special education coordinator, Amber Buss, at (815)945-2971 or abuss@prairiecentral.org.

Special Education Assessment Teams

Rose Smith
District special education coordinator
rsmith@prairiecentral.org

Patricia Paulson
Administrative Liaison for Special Programs (Early Childhood, Special Education, ELL)
tpaulson@prairiecentral.org

Jennifer Turnbow
School Psychologist
jturnbow@prairiecentral.org

Heather King
School social worker at Upper Elementary, Prairie Central Junior High
hking@prairiecentral.org

April Powell
School social worker at Prairie Central Elementary, Prairie Central Primary West
apowell@prairiecentral.org

Susan Werner
School social worker at Prairie Central Primary East, Prairie Central High School
swerner@prairiecentral.org