Services and Programming

A full continuum of special education and related services are available to all children who meet specific eligibility requirements.  Prairie Central #8 provides a variety of services to address the diverse needs of their student population.  All schools are committed to providing services in the least restrictive environment.  This commitment enables children to participate in and benefit from the general education curriculum as much as possible.

The goal of the special education and related services is to support each student and address the student’s individual needs.  An Individualized Education Program (IEP) is developed in collaboration with parents, general education teachers, and special education staff on a yearly basis.  The IEP, which includes goals and benchmarks, is evaluated every three years.

For more information about the district’s specialized programs contact the special education coordinator, Rose Smith at rsmith@prairiecentral.org.

Special Education Assessment Teams

Rose Smith
District special education coordinator
rsmith@prairiecentral.org

Sharon Gwaltney
School Psychologist at Upper Elementary
sgwaltney@prairiecentral.org

Heather King
School social worker at Upper Elementary, Prairie Central Elementary, Prairie Central Primary East
hking@prairiecentral.org

Josey Schouweiler
School social worker at Prairie Central Elementary, Prairie Central Primary West
jschouweiler@prairiecentral.org

Susan Werner
School social worker at Prairie Central Junior High, Prairie Central High School
swerner@prairiecentral.org

Paula Smith
School Psychologist at Prairie Central Elementary, Prairie Central Primary West
psmith@prairiecentral.org

Beth Casper
School Psychologist at Prairie Central High School
bcasper@prairiecentral.org